Organizing Web Content: Symbaloo and Diigo - Unit 2 Activity 2
When creating content for others, it is a good practice to test the page with another browser. When you are editing in Symbaloo, your browser is logged in to your account and you will see the view of Symbaloo as your account sees it. It is important, even crucial, for you to view content as users. That is where having a second browser is enormously helpful.
For example, you will find your view of Symbaloo (while logged in) might look like this:
On the other hand, this is what your page looks like to someone not logged in (your students or your colleagues):
No matter what web service you work with, it is a good idea to have a second browser to view content as another user. If you have administrative permissions with your computer (i.e. you can download and install software), here are some browsers you can use:
Open your Symbaloo page in one browser, then view the same page on a second browser (without logging in).
Republishing Your Symbaloo Page
One very important point with Symbaloo--if you publish a page and later make changes, the changes do not appear to other users. You need to republish the page in order for the changes to be visible to the users.
For example, if I create a page with two tiles and publish the page, the users will see the two tiles. But if I come back later and add three more tiles, even though I finish and the tiles are visible to me...
to other users the changes are not visible:
It is very important to remember as a Symbaloo user, you must republish every time you make changes or additions to your Symbaloo page for users to see those changes.
After sharing a Symbaloo page, make some additions or changes to the page. Use your second browser and view the page as another user. Now republish the page in Symbaloo and as a user view the page by refreshing the browser page or closing/restarting the browser.